FAQs

How is the structure of a session?

A session takes about 50 minutes. One parent or reference person is present during the session and is mostly being active.

In case it is your child’s first visit, we will strongly focus on getting in contact with your child in the first session. We will find out which developmental steps have already taken place and which steps are close to a breakthrough.

If your child has already got experiences with JKA, we will start the individual session by revising if and how the offers of the last session have been internalised by your child. The rest of the session will then be based on the results.

Can our child, despite JKA, continue with its normal therapies?

We explicitly state that you child can continue with its normal therapies during JKA. Overlaps with other therapy forms are very seldom and only in exceptional cases unfavourable; you will be notified if necessary.

From what age onwards can my child start with JKA therapy?

Basically the following applies: the sooner the better. We usually work with children from the moment the developmental delay is discovered. That may, for example, even be as from the fifth week after the birth!

Until what age is JKA suitable?

In general, there is not age limit for this method.

How many sessions will my child need?

In principle, it is advisable to continue with the individual sessions as long as the child responds positively to the lessons and the learning process is directly visible. In the beginning, we often recommend to do 5 lessons over a short period of time. These 5 lessons mostly reveal how your child reacts to the individual sessions.

At what time interval will the sessions take place?

The time interval is individually dependent on the therapeutic needs of the child and temporal possibilities of the parents.

At our locations in Linz and Vienna, we offer intensive sessions of 5 days with longer breaks in between or sessions at regular intervals, for example, every week or two times a week over a longer period of time.

I do not live nearby Linz or Vienna. Can I still attend sessions with my child?

Yes, in this case we offer to block the sessions. A possibility would be to do blocks of 5 days each with one or in special cases even two sessions per day and with a longer break in between. We shall be delighted to help you organise a suitable accomodation near by.

FAQs

Ablauf einer Sitzung?

Eine Sitzung dauert in etwa 50 Minuten. Ein Elternteil oder eine Bezugsperson ist bei den Sitzungen immer anwesend und meist aktiv dabei.

Kommt Ihr Kind das erste Mal zu uns, legen wir den Fokus der Stunde darauf, wie wir mit Ihrem Kind in Kontakt treten können. Wir finden heraus, welche Entwicklungsschritte bereits geformt sind bzw. welche Entwicklungsschritte möglicherweise kurz vor dem Durchbruch stehen.

Hat Ihr Kind schon Erfahrung mit JKA, überprüfen wir zu Beginn einer Einzelstunde immer, wie und ob die Angebote der letzten Stunden von Ihrem Kind verinnerlicht wurden. Daran orientiert sich dann meist der Ablauf der neuen Sitzung.

Kann unser Kind trotz JKA mit den gewohnten Therapien fortfahren?

Grundsätzlich gilt, dass Ihr Kind während JKA ganz normal mit anderen Therapien fortfahren kann. Wir sehen selten und nur wirklich in Ausnahmefällen ungünstige Überschneidungen mit anderen Therapien und weisen Sie gegebenenfalls darauf hin.

Ab welchem Alter kann mit JKA begonnen werden?

Grundsätzlich gilt: je früher, desto besser. Meist arbeiten wir mit Kindern ab dem Moment, in dem Entwicklungsstörungen entdeckt werden. Das kann z.B. schon ab der fünften Woche nach der Geburt sein.

Bis zu welchem Alter ist JKA geeignet?

Im Wesentlichen gibt es für diese Methode kein Alterslimit.

Wie viele Sitzungen braucht mein Kind?

Grundsätzlich ist es sinnvoll, mit den Einzelstunden fortzufahren, solange das Kind auf die Stunden anspricht und Entwicklung und Lernen in Bezug zu den Einzelstunden direkt sichtbar ist. Oftmals empfehlen wir für den Anfang 5 Stunden innerhalb eines kurzen Zeitrahmens. In diesen 5 Stunden zeichnet sich zumeist ab, wie Ihr Kind auf die Einzelstunden anspricht.

In welchem zeitlichen Abstand finden die Sitzungen statt?

Das kann individuell sehr verschieden sein und hängt von den Bedürfnissen des Kindes ab.

Wie bieten rund um unsere Standorte Linz und Wien entweder Intensivblöcke zu 5 Tagen mit längeren Pausen dazwischen oder Sitzungen in regelmäßigen Abständen, z.B. wöchentlich, bzw. 2 mal die Woche über einen längeren Zeitraum an.

Ich bin nicht rund um Linz oder Wien zu Hause. Kann ich trotzdem Sitzungen mit meinem Kind besuchen?

Ja, in diesem Fall blocken wir die Sitzungen. Dazu bieten sich Blöcke zu je 5 Tagen mit je einer oder in Sonderfällen sogar zwei Stunden pro Tag mit längeren Pausen dazwischen an. Wir unterstützten Sie gerne beim Organisieren von geeigneten Unterkünften in unserer Umgebung.